Nurse's Office

Link to the Enterovirus-D68 (EV-D68) Frequently Asked Questions, updated by the Monmouth County Health Department on 10/6/14.

County of Monmouth


February 9, 2015


County to offer free measles vaccine

Clinic to be held Feb. 18 from 9 a.m. to noon


FREEHOLD, NJ – The Monmouth County Health Department will offer a free measles vaccine clinic for Monmouth County residents on Wednesday, Feb. 18 from 9 a.m. to noon at their office located at 3435 Highway 9.

“Measles is very easily spread from person to person. Anyone who has not already had measles or has not received the measles vaccine can get the disease,” said Christopher Merkel, Monmouth County’s Public Health Coordinator. “Monmouth County residents who have not been vaccinated for measles are encouraged to attend the clinic and receive a free vaccine.”

Clinic participants must be at least 12 months of age to receive the vaccine.

When an infected person talks, coughs or sneezes, the virus is released into the air and enters another person’s body through the nose, mouth or throat. People can also become sick if they come in contact with the mucus or saliva (spit) from an infected person.

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the measles virus can live on infected surfaces for up to two hours. Ninety percent of people with close contact with an infected person will get measles, if they were not previously vaccinated.

The Monmouth County Health Department recommends that all residents avoid close contact with people who are sick.

“If you are sick, keep your distance from others to protect them from getting sick, too, and stay home when you are sick,” said Freeholder John P. Curley, liaison to the Monmouth County Health Department. “Most importantly, wash your hands to protect yourself from germs and cover your mouth and nose when you cough or sneeze.”

For additional information, call the Monmouth County Health Department at 732-431-7456, or log onto

The Monmouth County Health Department provides public health services for residents of the following towns: Aberdeen, Allentown, Asbury Park, Atlantic Highlands, Avon, Belmar, Bradley Beach, Englishtown, Eatontown, Farmingdale, Hazlet, Holmdel, Howell, Keyport, Lake Como, Manasquan, Marlboro, Matawan, Millstone, Neptune Township, Neptune City, Oceanport, Ocean Grove, Roosevelt, Shrewsbury Township and Union Beach. 

#     #     #